5 days post Botox/Hemorrhodtecomy (PPH)

Posted , 2 users are following.

After finding and reading through this board, I feel like I have been quite fortunate so far. As I am day 5 right now post OP and my pain is mostly gone except during BM. I am assuming this is due to the fact my surgeon performed the PPH procedure (stapled) instead of the standard Hemorrhodtecomy. I had been managing my internal hemorrhoids for almost 20 years, but I started having non-stop symptoms for the last 3 months which pushed me to discover had a fissure as well. My surgeon recommended doing the botox injection to calm the muscles and help the fissure heal, but said once he put me under that he may do the PPH procedure if it "made sense". Of course I woke up in pretty bad pain and realized that he had removed my 2 internal ones, assuming that I would to deal with this all at once. I have many of the same symptoms albeit much less pain then those who post here. I have mostly returned to normal bowel movements and somewhat normal diet, with extra fiber.

That being said I noticed starting about day 2 that I was getting some fecal leakage, and started wearing the liners in my undergarments as suggested by another post. While I am still only at day 5, my bowel control does seem pretty weak. Basically will lose control if I cough or sneeze and have some leakage. Also once I have any urgency to go, I have very little time to make it to the bathroom. I am wondering if this is normal in the part of recovery? Or am I facing the consequences of having the two procedures at once and maybe I am waiting the 3-5 months for the botox to wear off.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

G'day John,

Being at day 5, some leakage is to be expected, its a bit un-nerving but pretty normal. The same goes for no warning trips to the toilet, things should settle down by week 2.

If it continues past the second week, I'd be contacting your surgeon just to be on the safe side.

• Edited