5 weeks post laparoscopic hysterectomy - question about pain, swelling & belly hardening

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi - I had a laparoscopic hysterectomy 5 weeks ago, where everything was removed, and they also found some endometriosis adhesions which were also removed. However, some days my discomfort/pain seems worse than it was immediately after the operation, and I have days of belly swelling, hardening and also strange pains - they are not unlike the endometriosis pains I had, but they also feel like they might be bowel related because I seem to get more wind now and my bowel seems more irritated than it was before. I have a 3 year old and I'm not good at doing nothing, and so I am sure I am doing more than I should. I also find that I have the words from the Consultant in my ear about it 'only taking 6-8 weeks to recover', and so am concerned it might not be normal. I asked the GP but she didn't really have much to say about it.

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi Joanne

everything you are experiencing is normal. I too had everything removed. I didn't start to feel myself for a good 12 weeks and even now 5 months on I still have strange sensations like something is moving inside and bloating. It's like I can feel everything moving through my bowel. You've been through a massive operation and you still need to rest and not lift anything. Your body is just re-adjusting itself as it settles. Don't be hard on yourself you can't rush your recovery. It does get better it just takes time and patience. This general 6-8 weeks is nonsense it depends on what type of operation youve had and everyone recovers at a different rate. You're doing really well keep going sweets. x

• Posted

Thanks so much for your reply, Michelle - it's really reassuring to hear. I think its hard because it feels almost invisible - we have no way of seeing what is going on inside and how much we need to recover. I appreciate you taking the time to reply. xx

• Posted