5th metatarsal break- shooting pains in leg.

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, I fractured my 5th metatarsal in left foot x6 days ago.

Wearing hard soled boot during day. Avoiding weight bear, using crutches.

My question is - I've been having some shooting sharp pains in my left leg. It is so sharp it wakes me up.

Has any one else experienced this?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

You didn't get a boot?

I did and was told to sleep in it.

I would assume too much movement is aggravating the break and/or the tendon and ligament damage that goes with it. I am no doctor, but I have researched alot since I broke mine since the doctorS weren't very helpful regarding what I should do.

Just remember - no weight means NO WEIGHT!

If you are only wearing that uncomfortable splint shoe, ask about a boot that stabilized your foot and ankle. Uncomfortable also but much more protective and helpful.

I have an appointment in a couple hours will be back with my nee knowldege

• Posted

Hi, thanks for your reply.

I have got a support boot - under the knee with hard sole, valcro straps. They said not to sleep in it. And That I can put foot down/walk on the boot but with crutches, not fully weight bear. They said to be guided by the pain and can move into a trainer if ok in x4-6 weeks.

I've kept it raised as much as possible. In bed I rest it on a pillow. I wear the boot through the day.

I've had the shooting/sharp pain 3/4 times now but first time in the night.

• Posted