5th Metatarsal Nondisplaced Fracture (Neck)

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello all,

I’m new to this but I’m looking for some advice please? 

I’ve got a diagonal (2 inches approx) non displaced 5th metatarsal fracture (clean break) that I did on Saturday from falling down the stairs. I went into the hospital and they have given me a moon boot until tomorrow when I’ll be required to go into fracture clinic, I really cannot be off my feet for much longer, I have three young children and I work full time all over the uk doing around 600 miles per week. 

What’s the likelihood of surgery and if none, the likelihood of them allowing me to drive from tomorrow? 

I know this is a long shot but I need my car!! 

Thank you all,

Abbie x

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I’m not sure if you will need surgery or not.  But they will neither ‘allow’ or ‘disallow’ you to drive.  They can’t do that.  The responsibility is yours not to drive if you are physically impaired.  If, because of your injury, you were unable to perform an emergency stop if needed, your insurance would be invalid.  And supposing the car you hit had three young children in it? Doesn’t bear thinking about . . .
    • Posted

Thanks for your reply. 

I’m not in any pain. I could well perform and emergency stop if required. I can walk (hobble) and feel fine to do so. 

It’s a bit sore, but apart from that, it’s fine. I drove to the hospital 5hrs after I’d done it. If I couldn’t drive, I get it - but I can. 

Thanks,

Abbie x

• Posted

I only pointed this out as I too expected to be told when I could drive again after breaking my leg.  I even rang DVLA but they werent interested, said it was my responsibility. Wishing you a speedy recovery!
  • Posted