6 Years of taken 30mg of Mirtazapine

Posted , 5 users are following.

I am not sure what Mirtazapine does for me but, I take it because my doctor prescribed it for me. I have terrible sleeping habits. Nothing has improved. My doctor seems not to care but, her recommendation is to continue to take it.

I just want one night of good sleep. I wake up 5-6 times every night. Can someone please help me or give me a good recommendation. I am a 11 Veteran of the United States Navy. Please help!!

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Has your doc prescribed you 30mg Mirt for insomnia?

When I really struggled with sleeping, my doc prescribed it to 1/4(3,75mg) of 15mg .

Mirt has more sedative effect at lower doses.

• Posted

I write as a Mirtazapine user. I am not a doctor. While it is true that a low dose of Mirtazapine is usually effective for sleep, you must not be tempted to cut straight to a low dose. You would suffer acute withdrawal symptoms. Please heed all the advice about reducing the dose extremely slowly, in stages. But your doctor may have prescribed 30 mg. for a different reason (anxiety reduction?) so a proper discussion with the doctor would be highly desirable before making a change. That said, waking during the night can have various causes, for example: needing to empty the bladder (too much fluid late in the day), or having watched a computer screen close to bedtime. You don't say whether you wake up with anxious thoughts, or just wake up.

• Posted

mirt at 7 half mg is good for sleep anything higher is for anxiety depression if u going to get off mirt please do so slowly withdrawels r hell !!!! if your dr cant help with your sleep issue it mught b time cor a change of drs! good luck!

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!