6months of symptoms, does any one have the same?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello,

I am going through something frustrating with my health in the last half a year. I was always healthy, but started to have issues since end of january 2019.

I have on and off diarrhea, constipation, painful gas, lower back pain that radiates to the leg and the stool looks narrower than usual, a bit smaller than 1inch and I am always tired.

I have done full blood tests - all normal, except feritin is a bit on a low side 21.

Colonoscopy - all normal. CT scan - all normal.

My question is what can cause such problems? and also can CT scan see rectal cancer? Can colonoscopy miss tumors?

By the symptoms I have it feels to me that it's a bulky tumor that presses on some nerves. But I am not a doctor and I can be completely wrong.

Please let me know what you think.

Kate

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

CTs and colonoscopies are highly accurate and are used to detect tumors as well as other conditions. If you had a bulky tumor, these scans would show it!A tumor that is bulky would be hard to miss. My brother who is a surgeon told me that nasty conditions show up very early on scans. Try to see it as a positive sign that your test have come back normal. Try not to think of the worst case scenario because worrying actually aggravates gut problems. Your symptoms sound like IBS.What had your doctor suggested? Try to believe in your test results and whatever reassurance your doctor gives you. Do you have any abdominal pain that moves about?

• Posted

Hi Pippa.

thanks for replying, really appreciate that. Yes I do have abdominal pain that moves around. But I also have some sort of rectal pressure.

The doctor says possibly IBS, but wasn' t conclusive about that... so I feel frustrated. And possibly my frustration is causing some of the symptoms.. not sure though.

Good that you have a medic in a family who can reassure 😃

Kat

• Posted