7 year old hip replacement situation!

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hey guys,

It's my first time on here so be gentle...

I had my right hip replaced in 2015 due to undiagnosed hip dysplasia which then developed into osteoarthritis. A full hip replacement was required.

Soooo im seven years in...for the past 2 years i have developed a disturbing sensation in my leg, when i walk....

So ill be walking, then bang out of no where, i get this, what i can only describe as, a bolt of electricity shoot from my hip down my leg with a cold tingly sensation...it is that intense my leg buckles and gives way. It makes you jump.

Can any body relate? I have a scan on 4th May for this problem. Covid has understandably caused delays.

Any reply appreciated.

Thanks so much, Jayde x Just to add...I am a relatively healthy 32 year old female.

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Edited

anytime bolt of electricity is mentioned... it could be a nerve pinched caused by any number of issues or swelling depending how often it happens , what type of movement , it could be a red flag for complications down the line.

i know exactly what you mean i had developed pseudo tumors and metalliosis from the metal implant and lots of swelling. .

nothing showed up in tests until revision was done and it was obvious by then. ceramic components were used to replace the metal and I no longer experience the nerve sensation of the zap that just stopped me in my tracks. it's kind of scary at first. the things we go thru to manage better mobility in our lives...

there are so many things that can go wrong. my docs were telling me my pain zaps was from my back the sciatic nerve. i knew it wasnt sciatica . these things dont show up in mri's . soft tissue injury is a bit harder to diagnose. if bone has grown and developed a spur it can cause these issues. tendons or muscles are not in the correct place or a component is sliding on a spur and or component or on bone or even swelling from daily movement .