8 wks post tkr

Posted , 7 users are following.

I am 8 wks po tkr on my left knee, had some complications like a blot clot and bad infection at first and didn't start pt until I was almost 2 wks po. Pt is going good and I'm walking pretty much without any aids, driving and only taking pain meds for therapy. I drive a truck for a living and I'm almost positive my surgeon is going to release me when I go to see him on the 31st. He will not give me anymore pain meds and had a problem giving me the last ones on the 4th of December. My surgery was on November 3rd. My bend is at 100% finally after all the problems I've had and I don't feel I should be released yet.

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Good heavens, where are you?  I can't believe that you are being forced to go without pain meds, and be signed off at such an early stage!  Yes, you are obviously doing well, in spite a bad beginning, but for heaven's sake. . don't these surgeons understand what enormous trauma they are putting us through, and how heavy a toll both physical and mental an operation like this takes.  Maybe you are putting too brave a face on things when you see your (rather horrible) surgeon??  Might pay to try letting him see that not all is roses in your particular garden at the moment. I would have thought you  You needed  another month at least. . . . 
    • Posted

Me too but surgeon was extremely rude when i was there and really has no bedside manner. Only reason I used him is my nanny kept singing praises about him..he originally wanted to release me when I went back for a 6wk check up then he remembered I drove a truck and said no. I'm in Tennessee and thought about trying to get a 2nd opinion that he even did my knee right to begin with
    • Posted