9 weeks post unprovoked PE

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello, I'm new to this site. I'm 40 years old and am 9 weeks post an unprovoked PE. I am on blood thinners at least until genetic testing can be done in 6 months. My concern is, I am still very short of breath and it seems to be getting worse. When I get short of breath, I also getting a rapid heartbeat feeling. I also suffer from high blood pressure (another genetic issue). Occasionally, I also get clammy. My doctors simply say it takes time to heal and also say I can't get more clots while on blood thinners. Has anyone else had this happen? Should I be concerned? I do see a Pulmonologist on Aug 9th for a first time visit.

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Karen, I think you're going to be fine. I'm new to this too and have found through a multitude of message boards that the shortness of breath will continue for a long time -- months, I'm told.  The rapid heartbeat is scary.  What I do is take about three really deep breaths and blow out slowly.  Also my sister ordered me one of pulse oximeters  -- the thing they put on your finger at the doctor's office. I think she got it from Amazon. I thought it was going ot make me crazy, but she said it would actually make me sane.  When I think my heart is going to shoot out of my chest, I put it on and USUALLY the rate isn't as high as i think it is. I take my deep breaths and watch the rate go down,.  Doctors don't seem to give us much direction because everybody is different, or so they say.  I too have high blood pressure.  Sometimes my blood pressure went way down. I was told to check my BP in the morning and if the systolic was below 100 first thing in the morning, skip my pill. Of course, your doctor may tell you something completely different but it goes to show that everyone reacts in slightly different ways,.