92 year old mom, should she take Shingrix?

Posted , 4 users are following.

My mom is 92 years old and in relatively good health, keeps busy and has the mind of a 50 year old. I have been trying to convince her to take Shingrix, especially since she saw what I went through in March with shingles. My question is, is the vaccine ok for someone in that age group?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Sandi,

The vaccine is a killed virus, so it is much safer than the live virus vaccines. With Shingrex, many of us had 3 days of a painful arm, chills and sweating, aches and pains, fatigue, and malaise. My thought when having the reaction was my body is mounting an immune response. I planned on doing nothing for those 3 days. The reaction was nothing compared to Shingles, however, which has devastated so many lives. I expected to have a the reaction.

If your Mother is undecided, have her speak to her Physician.

I am a Nurse Practitioner in the States.

Best Regards

Merry Juliana

• Posted

Hello Merry Juliana,

Did taking the shingdrex vaccine help you in any way? I'm thinking about taking it also as I have recurring shingles.

Thanks MRSATD

• Posted

Hi Mrsatd!

It has been almost 8 weeks since the first of two Shingrex shots. I should have had three incapacitating episodes of Shingles, in which I have a severe headache, earache, difficulty swallowing, and lesions extending from my right ear, throat, mouth, and right scalp to one mild case of no pain and a few lesions 3 weeks after the first immunization. It takes at least 8 weeks for the antibodies to maximize after the second immunization.

The Shingrex is already working well. The Post Herpetic Neuralgia PHN is completely gone, and the recurring Herpes Zoster-Shingles recurred shortly after the first shot, before the antibodies had a chance to muster.

My energy level has skyrocketed, as well.