AAA vs stressful job - what to do?

Posted , 3 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity.

I was diagnosed with an ascending aortic aneurysm 4 years ago, with the grace of God it has remained at 4.4cm. I visit my cardiologist every 3 months religiously, and next month is my EKG/ultrasound/CT scan and stress test follow up after a year of going to him.

I work as an IT site manager for one of the largest hospitals on Long Island, NY. Basically, I manage a team of 15 desktop techs, with my team lead and I making sure tickets are assigned, getting looked at, updated and closed in a timely manner. We also deal daily with escalations and adhoc requests, projects, meetings, walkthroughs, as well as addressing requests from site IT leadership (5 members including the CCIO), as well as our leadership/senior management. I've been doing this for 10 years, it has honestly gotten played out, and addressing everyone's concerns and managing my team on a daily basis has worn me out. I need a change desperately. The position pays very well, however I'm believing more and more with all the stress, daily escalations, late nights etc it's not worth it. I want my life back, thank God I have been able to watch my children grow up but I feel like I don't spend as much with them as I'd like or with my wife. 

My wife feels this is affecting me in many ways that she is concerned with: ice-pick headaches, blurred vision (when I don't get enough sleep), crankiness, sometimes I feel a bit overwhelmed but I keep moving past it. I'm worrying if this is affecting my AAA in any way. My BP has always been excellent, however I'm worried this is or will eventually effect me detrimentally.