Abdominal pain

Posted , 3 users are following.

After my first phlebotomy i had very severe abdominal pain and ended up in the hospital. my ferratin went to 785. I going to have a 2nd phlebotomy and have an IV and only take 1/2 unit. im open to any and all ideas.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

What did the physician at the hospital say?

• Posted

he did a laproscopic proceedure to hopefully resolve a small bowel obstruction but did not find an obstruction. after this procedure and no food to rest the area the pain was gone

i think the phlebotomy was maybe too much blood or too fast. he said he thought the small bowel had gone into shock from blood removal and low blood pressure.

• Posted

Rosemary, I have had a lot of experience talking to other HH people and not once has anyone mentioned this problem. I have googled researchers' papers and case studies and come up with nothing.

Ask to be checked for Helicobacter Pylori which thrives on iron - a long shot. Then there is celiac disease. HP can be diagnosed with a breath test or an endoscopy with biopsy, celiac needs an endoscope and biopsy too. Why they would cause a sudden onset of pain after phlebotomy though is strange (having experienced HP myself repeatedly - I get ulcer pain but not connected to venesections).

I suggest you join Haemochromatosis Support Facebook which is contributed to internationally and ask the same question. You may get another with same experience and what to do about it.

I assume you have a good meal in the hours preceding phlebotomy and lots to drink.

Good luck.

• Posted

thanks so much i will check on those things

• Posted

Never heard of this problem or any studies with this outcome.

I have only heard and encountered issues due to high numbers but never when blood is removed which is a very safe routine procedure.

Without knowing all your medical details and lifestyle it could be your diet and gut bacteria or even anxiety

Report or request deletion