Ablation - going for it!

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi folks. Well, next phase for me is ablation. New consultant feels best way forward, and to be honest, I need to consider a way to manage my rapidly increasing and lengthy episodes. No hanging about! In in 4 weeks! Been put onto thinners in readiness. Here goes nothin! Will update with outcome. Fingers crossed for a good one!! 😁

2 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

I have just had my third ablation. The other two worked but stressful situations set me off again. This time I am working hard on the coping strategies to ensure that this one lasts. Good luck. Be prepared for episodes in the first few weeks until it heals. I had to have cardioversion the morning after but all calming down now.
    • Posted

Hi Judith. Ok. Good to hear that, and thanks for your progress update. Doc is optimistic as I've no other medical background stuff going on, but has warned I might need a repeat (amongst the other warnings!) . How long have you taken to return to work or equivalent level please?
  • Posted

I felt better by the end of a week and ready to go. Different experience each time. I bled after second one and so was pretty bruised. I also have no other health issues and so was back to it pretty quickly and both lasted about six months but as I say stress is my trigger and I was still in a stressed situation.
    • Posted

Thanks for this. That fits with what cardiologist has indicated 're. time off, providing no surprises.
  • Posted

GOOD LUCK, HOPE ALL GOES WELL ... FINGERS AND TOES ALL CROSSED FOR YOU . .
    • Posted

Jay, thank you. I'm going with positive approach, hoping to feed back good results!!
    • Posted

Good luck, Ablation may be on the cards for me too if my second cardioversion fails, (fingers crossed it won't)! Try to stay stress free, let us all know how you go on. Cheers. 
    • Posted

Thank you, and I'll be sure to update after. Hope your procedure goes to plan too.
    • Posted