about to start orlistat

Posted , 4 users are following.

my doctor has perscribed me a months supply of orlistat and i have been hearing quite a few things about the side effects and have gotten myself a little concerned as i dont want these side effects occuring whilst at work so i was wondering if you could answer a few questions as the measly leaflet in the packet was not much help?

:?: how many grams of fat can i have per day/meal and how do i work out how many if it varies?

:?: do i have to stick to 3 meals a day or can i snack on low/no fat foods inbetween meals?

:?: do you know of any useful websites which show what foods are suitable to eat i.e low fat?

Thankyou :D

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

oh and can you skip a pill when going out for a meal (on special occasions) and not get side effects if you eat for fat in that meal?

thanks smile

• Posted

So - I'm no expert, but the answers below to your questions work for me

- 25-3og of fat a day - no more and no less - and these fat grams have to be counted in my 1200-1400 daily calorie counting - any sort of fat, but common sense says the healthier type has to be better

- no more than 15g in a single meal - the average in a meal should obviously be 8-9g

- you can snack within your calorie and fat counting, but it leaves less for main meals, and the bluey pill is at its most effective when it is within an hour of the food going in

- just google your chosen food would be my advice, and get a good little calorie/fat book like the Collins one - a palaver to start with but you soon get the rhythm of it and it becomes much less onerous. There are a couple of threads on this site where people have shared their favourite low fat treats so scroll down and have a look.