Achilles Rupture for the Second Time

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello All-

New to the site. I came across in my search for some comfort while in recovery.

About Me

I'm 42 years old and a fairly active individual. On March 27 (roughly 2 1/2 weeks ago) I ruptured my left achilles while playing in my regular pickup basketball league.

This is the second time I've completely ruptured an achilles tendon. 13 years ago, I ruptured the achilles tendon in my right foot while playing flag football. I had surgery back then as well. It ultimately went well, and I was able to resume an active lifestyle.

This time around I think I may have to be more cautious. Although I can't imagine having a third rupture, you never know. I have a baby on the way in August, and I'm on my feet a lot for work. Needless to say this has been a pain in my rear. I am an attorney and I work for a small practice. I am the one that usually goes to court, so this has placed a strain at work.

Anyway, I had surgery 8 days ago. I was in a splint post-op. Today I went in for my first check-up. The doc said that everything looked good. So they put me in a cast and raised my foot up a bit (from I'm guessing 33 degrees up to 45).

I go back in a week. At that point they're going to try to get my foot to 90. And then I'll be in a cast for another two weeks. And then a walking boot.

My memory is a bit foggy, but the procedure seems a bit different from before. I don't know if it's just methods changing over time, or just a different doctor.

Is anyone else under the same, or similar treatment? 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hello,