Acid Reflux

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hello everyone this is my first time on here and I'm hoping you can advise me.

I'm a 50 year old female in good health but recently have been suffering with acid reflux. I was going through a stressful time at work and I'm convinced this brought on the symptoms.

I already had a Consultant I was seeing because I had my gallbladder out last September so I returned to him for advice. He initially prescribed omeprazole and gaviscon but I found the omeorazole gave me a dry mouth so he switched it to lansoprazole. I haven't taken it yet because I don't want to become reliant on it and the list of side effects is long!

I find the symptoms worse at night sometimes I wake up with a burning pain but if I take some gaviscon I can normally get back to sleep.

Does anyone have any experience of lansoprazole? Is this a short term thing I don't want to take keep taking medication.

2 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Lansoprazol didnt work for me so i switched to esomeprazol (Nexium) that didnt do too much either, this is since Oct last year, i believe it was brought on by stress as my mother who is 84 had to have a big op, which went ok in the end, but i started to question my own health etc and i think it caused all this to happen.....

• Posted

Dear carolina

It could be the menopause causing these symptoms as i started to get abdominal problems at 51, yes the Oneprezole does give a dry mouth abmnd after so long on it, it gave me a terrible gassy stomach, i then switched to Zantac but with like most medications they have side effects. The problem did eventuallyvresolve itself but did take time.

• Posted

Dear carolina