Acne rosacea - large cyst

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello, I have never done this before but wondered if anyone could help with any advice regarding Acne rosacea, and very large lumps (?cyst). I have had rosacea on my nose for 10 years. I am 28. I have come to terms with this and deal with covering this pretty well now. However lately I have had a problem with very large deep rooted spots (?cysts) for the past 4 months. These started on one cheek and have now spread to the other cheek. It is impossible to cover these, the biggest being the size of a £1 coin in diameter and it very raised. I have tried all sorts to sort these out and currently have a prescription for Skinoren from my GP. My issue is that these are very hot, painful and are affecting my confidence a lot.

The biggest issue is that my GP won't prescribe antibiotics for these as I am currently trying to have children and am off birth control. We have been trying for 18 month to no avail but I don't want to go back on birth control as feel this is a backwards step. I am currently taking vitamins and putting ice on these to try and calm down the hotness. Any advice of help would be greatly received.

Thank you,

Katie

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Have you ever seen a dermatologist?
    • Posted

I have seen a dermatologist a number of times in the past. They have prescribed all of the 'cyclines and I have also had roaccutane. These tend to work whilst I am on them however the problem returns once the course is complete.

The problem is when seeing dermatologists and doctors at the moment is that they just want to prescribe antibiotics, which they won't do unless I am on the birth control pill. 

• Posted

How long did you have to take it for? Would you consider taking it again?
    • Posted

Obviously not whilst trying for a baby.
    • Posted

I would not take this again no. Too many side effects. Definitely not whilst trying for a baby no.
  • Posted