Adrenal hormones high

Posted , 3 users are following.

Morning cortisol --25.9-- range--4-22

ACTH--53---range--6-50

i have hashis and diabetes 2 low estrogen am 69 yrs female do I have an adrenal problem? My vit D level is 44 my vit B-12 is 358 doc is doing vit deficiency labs. I am worried because when I try to raise my thyroid meds they don't seem to help and I get more fatigued. 

Tsh2.38

ft3--2.7

ft4--1.1

i know I need more than the 68.5 synthyroid that I am on because of fatigue. Some help needed for the high cortisol and ACTH is it a adrenal problem?? Called docs office and they never get back to me. Need to know now please help . 

0 likes, 83 replies

83 Replies

• Posted

Hello Jean:

I am an RN - Nurse and live in the USA.  Our blood cortisol reference range in USA is 7-28. So you would not be considered High here.  You are slightly over in your UK ref. range of 4-22.  I am ssuming this is blood level and not a 24 hour urine collection sample.

Your T4 is low and should be 4.5 to 11.2 and maybe you are not able to take LEVO and make T3 enough.   Ask your MD for another type of thyroid med.  Are you taking it an hour before meals?  Maybe you should try Armour Thyroid.  It is NDH. Your TSH is okay but I willrely on your symptoms.

As long as your estrogen is low you should not see cortisol levels go haywire.  How about your mineral panel, potassium, iron, magnesium, etc...that all has to be okay for Levo (synthroid), to work well.

Meds like Dilantin, or epilepsy drugs can spike your cortisol levels.  Try a different thyroid med, as our bodies are complex sometimes a pill stops working well, and I had to go through a bunch of them.  I suffer with Hashimoto's and was on Armour for years.  I was unable to take LEVO. I was not converting T4 into T3 well.

I hope this helps  Be well - Shelly

• Posted

Doc is doing 24 hour urine and dexamethasone pill what is she looking for adrenal prob?
    • Posted

Iam in florida use quest labs
    • Posted