Adult MC Success Story

Posted , 4 users are following.

This site was pretty helpful so I wanted to relay my experience and lessons learned. I am not a medical professional but do have an advanced degree in engineering and the sciences.  My lessons learned are below.

STATE OF MIND

Having MC sucked, full stop. I did not know what it was. I did not know how to treat it effectively. It took a while to find competent medical help. And I was repeatedly told that it could last several years. I will not belabor this point except that it was helpful to read many of the other folks on this site discuss the challenges that they faced and I can completely relate to the emotional challenges you face.

As I read through the medical literature, MC was constantly described as a nuisance virus and it was obvious that little effort had been expended to try to find a cure, effective remedies, or even understand the disease at all. This was also a source of frustration because the disease strongly impacted my life. 

Over time, I assumed ownership and responsibility over my own battle with MC and recommend that you do the same.

DOCTORS

I was initially misdiagnosed and learned that a number of primary care doctors have never heard of MC.

I saw 5 different dermatologists and would only rate 2 as reasonably competent. One dermatologist told me that I would be cured 24 hours after my first cryo-treatment.

I saw two different urologists for unrelated issues but discussed MC. One was incredibly helpful and the other was not.

TREATMENTS

Treatment options fall into 3 categories

(1) Local destruction of MC - when a bump appears, you destroy it by freezing or acid or curettage or laser or some other means. 

(2) Local excitation of Immune System - when a bump appears, you apply a substance that irritates the immune system in that area and gets the body to attack the virus.

(3) Turbo charge your Immune System - more on this below.

My recommendation is to do (1) or (2) AND (3).