Advice needed on the Sinclair Method

Posted , 8 users are following.

Good Day. This is my first attempt at stopping or alternatively, slowing down my consumption. Please bear with me, as I have a number of quiestions.

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

for me there is no slowing down..but only to stop.

I haven't managed the STOP point so well either.

What are your questions?  I had 8 years sobriety..

What it is about is taking care of your self...buying yourself things....eating good food....caring about your life and making boundries...I suck at all of it

• Posted

I have been doing Research on Selincro (Nalmefene) as a possible alternative. I have been drinking from a very young age, and working in an environment where drinkinging was an ongoing affair for many years.

I have stopped both anti-depressants, and Diazepam about a year ago, but I find I drink too much in social environments, mostly to ease social anxiety. 

I tend to sip slowly otherwise. I have no desire to be drugged again - 8 years of being semi-aware is no life at all. 

I normally drink every day, but have stopped about 48 hours ago - as a sort of dare to myself that I can. 

• Posted

Can anyone tell me if Selincro (Nalmefene) is available in South Africa?
    • Posted

I answered this on another thread but, in case you missed that answer, I am not sure but, if it isn't, Naltrexone may be.
    • Posted

Hi Tania,

Selincro is most definitely NOT available in South Africa so you would need to use the medication called naltrexone.  Several companies make naltrexone and I know, once upon a time, the brand name in South Africa was called Revia.  And I know another has been available which is called Naltima.

You will need your doctor to prescribe though as it is a scheduled medication and cannot be issued with a doctor's approval.

• Posted

Fire away Tania smile One of us here will have answers, I am sure smile
    • Posted