Advice needed please

Posted , 5 users are following.

My husband showed signs of memory problems and had a memory assessment at the memory clinic. He did very well and the nurse said it may just be mild cognitive problems. The consultant has checked hubbys CT scan and suggested hubby has an MRI scan as the CT scan wasnt clear so he couldnt make a diagnosis yet. The CT scanner guy said the scans were good clear pics so why would hubby need an MRI? Needless to say he's now worrying! Anybody got any ideas please?

Thank you..

1 like, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi Elaine,

How old is your husband? How long  has this been going on?

When you have conversations, does he make sense when he replies?

Is he forgetting where things are in the house, and forgetting appointments etc?

I am asking these questions because I am a Speciaist Dementia Nurse, and if can give me more information it would help me to build up a picture of what is happening to your husband,

Love Tess xxx

• Posted

Hi tess,

Hes 68yrs old. Forgets appointments sometimes and finds it hard to focus on things. I know the signs of Alzheimers as my mother has it and hes not anywhere near as bad as that! Did quite well in the memory test. So wondering if there was something on the CT scan but needed checking with an MRI scan? Dont really know im just guessing? X

• Posted

Btw yes he does make sense when chatting to him. Forgets where hes put things sometimes but i put this down to an "age" thing. Been going on about 12mths....no better but no worse either.

Thank you x

• Posted

Wait for the results of the MRI, Elaine.

If he isn't getting worse that sounds encouraging.

Please keep in touch

love Tess

• Posted

Waiting for the MRI appointment.....could be end of Oct. Will keep you informed. Thanks ladies 😊

• Posted