Advice needed please

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all,

I have been recieving PIP standard living since December 2016 due to my disability (dwarfism)

I am 27 and looking at driving to gain some sense of independence, problem is i would need an adapted car.... which is only avaiable via Mobility on PIP high rate for mobility.

please advise what i should do.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

I remember you when you first claimed PIP. I'm guessing you didn't recieve the motability part of PIP, just the Daily living part? May i ask how many points you scored for Motability part? You'll need 12 points for Enhanced which will give you access to the car (however even then you're more than likely going to have to pay a lot extra for a specially adapted car) Unless an automatic would be suitable for you. I have no idea of your circumstances (your height)

Anyway, has your condition got worse? The criteria for Enhanced is 20 metres or less. If your condition has got worse and you have proof of this with plenty of evidence then you could report the changes. By doing so though you do risk losing what you already have because they'll look at the whole award again. The form they'll send you would be exactly like the first one you had. Then there's a high possibility you'll be asked to attend another f2f assessment. If you'd had an award now of Standard Mobility too then i'd say risk it but because you don't have this then it could be very risky. Was there a reason you didn't ask for the Mandatory Reconsideration before? The choice is yours i personnally wouldn't risk it and i've been in your situation before. My first time award i was just 2 points away from Enhanced. Desperately needed that car to improve my quality of life but no way was i going to risk what i already had. I waited until my renewal date. How long till your renewal date please?

• Posted

Hi Denise,