Advice on living with SVT

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all,

I am new to this but I just wanted to see if anyone had any advice on how to manage my SVT.

I have had it for about 5-6 years now and I've had 3x cardiac ablations to no avail. It's rather hard to get any medical help without shelling out several hundred dollars/waiting 12-24 months. I just want to know what people do to help themselves?

Do you use a specific diet and workout regime? Is there anything more i can do?

Thank you for your time.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Edited

Just remember that SVT in itself is not life threatening. I was born with it and was never recommended to have an ablation, so I have learned to deal with it. As far as diet and exercise, I try to stay active (I do HIIT 2-3 times a week) and avoid stimulants as much as possible.

• Posted

I am new also. I have to say when it happens I always worry it will happen again the next day and get in this cycle that I am worried it's going to happen again. I get polyuria afterwards and it makes my heart/rate shaky and makes me feel a little nervous anxious afterwards. Is that common?

• Posted

Certainly that's common.

If you are new to this, then I am sure your anxiety is taking over.

When I first started having episodes, my anxiety was crazy, and that of course made it worse.. My bp would go crazy high.

I got to the point that I no longer get anxious unless my episodes are over 1 1/2 hours long.

I tend to get more p****d off especially if I have plans.

I just get to my maneuvers and keep doing it until one works .My episodes can be 5 minutes but have gone for over 6 hours.

I too get polyuria. I do not think everyone gets that.

Do you know swhat type of svt you have? And how high does your rate go

• Posted

Idk what type I think they wanted to give me less info to avoid further anxiety. It's been 160 but it's usually lower. like 120-140. It's really just how I feel afterwards that makes me hate it.

• Edited