Advice on switching anti depressant

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi all ! Sorry I'm new to this so bear with me. I've been depressed and anxious for years now and not really done anything about it till 4 months ago when it was just getting too much and people were really noticing and it was effecting my work. I've been taking Prozac prescribed by the doctor, 20mg at first then 40mg two months later, side effects were pretty grim but I'm over them now, I have been seeing a counsellor weekly and doing the cbt but it's not making any difference to me. Twice now I've had to go back to the doctor for Valium because I've been shaking and slurring my words and in total panick state. I feel like the Prozac has helped in some ways like the fact I can manage to do my hair in the morning now and I feel more up for going out but I'm still not good at it and last time I went I was hyper and broke two ribs so it's really set me back from wanting to go out because I feel I can't be trusted to behave normally ! I've been very tearful last few months, I wasn't before I started the meds but I was completely numb and wasn't really here to be honest I didn't feel anything at all. On month four I thought I would be feeling tons better but my nearest and dearest say they think Prozac is making me worse so I have an appointment at the doctors tomorrow because I'm thinking of switching meds, or maybe adding something to it. I've gained 10lbs too because I'm craving sweet constantly , I have massive hang ups about my weight and this is probably my worst nightmare putting weight on... I even stopped taking my Prozac last week cos it was bothering me so much ! Any one got any advice on a good medication that works quickly and will keep my weight in check as well as a smile on my face ?? Thank you , look forward to hearing any advice at all cos I'm lost at the mo !

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hello Nicky