Advice please!

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello - my gp has referred me to a gastro due to a blood test I had recently being raised.  (Not sure what test it was but apparently it should have been less than 5 and it was 25 which indicated potential Coeliac?)  My gastro appointment isn't until the end of March, but my GP says I must continue eating all the stuff I currently do so that any further tests are accurate.  As the appointment is a way off and I'm in quite a bit of discomfort - could I cut back on gluten until just before the appointment and then eat it again?  Sorry if that's an obvious questions but I'm new to all this!  Thanks in advance.

1 like, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lorraine21138,

I was diagnosed early on this year with Ceoliac disease and I had the same problem with appointments being quite far in the distance, especially with the amount of discomfort I was in. I however spoke to my GP and explained that I was so ill from eating gluten, he then allowed me to cut it out until about 2 weeks prior to my appointment. The two weeks prior I added gluten back into my diet so when I was tested it would allow the results to fully see my reaction to gluten.

I would 100% double check with your own GP to discuss what is best for you, however I found this gave me some relief as I was so ill, and I can imagine how uncomfortable it would be for you.

Hope this helps!

• Posted

Thank you for your reply.  I still have my doubts whether it is Coeliac - I'm 50 years old and although I have suffered on and off with stomach issues over the years I did test negative for it about ten years back - I'm not sure it  could have suddenly developed like this!  Although - daft thing to say - if it is that, at least I would at last have an answer to this misery!  Thanks again for replying and Happy Christmas.

• Posted

That's interesting. If 2 weeks can be sufficient, why make everyone wait so long?