Advice would be appreciated ......

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello there,

I've had Fibromyalgia & the related CFS for many years & have felt fortunate that I've managed quite well with it while still working but in the ladt few years it has gradually been making it harder & more of a struggle, especially managing work. I can no longer work full time hours. I work as a Care Support Worker, a job I love. After the last job was finished due to lack of funding, I've recently started a part time job with my local council. It's 25hrs a week but can be more. I manage the 7am-2pm shift fine as long as I'm in bed by 8.30pm the night before but I'm struggling with the arvo/eve shifts which are (at present), 4.30pm-9.30pm ish, so getting home by 10pm. It's actually from about 4pm onwards that I usually feel especially tired as my energy levels start to drop dramatically from then & I'm not good during the evenings, rarely going out for an evening out as I feel so tired. After working the first arvo/eve shift which felt like swimming against the tide, I was so overwhelmed by tiredness & fatigue & my muscles were painful & stiff & the next day I was laid up all the next day but it also has a knock on effect, leaving me extremely tired & sluggish for almost a week afterwards. The office has so far given me a later shift the day before a day off as I asked as I know I could'nt get up the next day. What do you do, when finally, you cannot manage work as expected & seriously need to think about finishing. I don't want that but seriously worried that I'm having to now consider it. What, if any, financial help is there? Can anyone advise me please?

Thank you for taking the time to read this & hope you are as well as is possible. Pip x

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hello Pip, Just a quick note to encourage you to hang in there & hopefully someone with knowledge for where you live can give you the advice you need.