AFTER the surgery frustrations

Posted , 8 users are following.

OK, I am just getting into the 'immobilization' routine of after rotator cuff arthroscopic surgery. I'm caught in a frightful quandary of (lack of) insight and understanding about what I can and cannot do. Plus not knowing makes it more difficult for me to know and work around/with this required procedure. It seems that there are some movements I am encouraged to do - elbow & wrist plus back (inner) shoulder contractions. Yet I also get a nagging caution feeling to move my operated on arm! 

How to KNOW and balance daily life activity for the BETTER without inadvertently causing avoidable damage?   

My doctor has provided excellent videos at his site but they tend to be (necessarily?) general in directions. Meanwhile I STRUGGLE with the bolster/sling' immobilizer device that I am supposed to wear for 6 weeks - expect for showering, eating at table etc. The thing is cumbersome, bulky and ends up being bumped by me just moving around. It also is causing sores/chaffing of my skin (sweating & rubbing arm to body side) and sore ribs when tightened enough to secure arm in 'position' (which also isn't well explained.

I sure I will be 'suck it up' and live with it comments, however if I had had insight into this process before I got here, maybe much of this could have been avoided?

I am also VERY GRATEFUL that such a forum as this exists. My only wish is that there were either categories or tag options for posts for better search retrieval.  Not really practical nor encouraging to think about browsing thru a long list of posts to find insights that are probably here.

Thanks for any feedback.

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted