alcohol and venaflaxine

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am on 75 mg of venaflaxine a day which I take in the evening. Next day I went to to a birthday party, in the afternoon. I had about 4 pints of bitter, which I dont normally drink on these tablets, so I didnt take my tablet that day, but I felt awful for days after,

any comments

Bryan

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi Bryan

The way I see it is that anti-depressants increase the amount of chemicals that carry information in the brain. Alcohol decreases the amount of chemicals carrying information in the brain. Which is why people get slurry and can't walk properly, literally because the brain doesn't have the capacity to process all the information as quickly.

I'm no medical expert, but I'm guessing the combination of not taking the tablet and taking alcohol was a bit of a shock to your system, and it took a few days to get all those chemicals back to normal... I think we all make the mistake of drinking alcohol whilst on the tablets though, and I definitely won't be making that mistake again!!

I think drinking a little now and again is fine though, as long as you keep taking the tablets.

Hope that helped and take care

• Posted

Yep.

Your medication is replacing the chemicals that ur brain can`t naturally....to increase your feeling of well being.

Alcohol is a suppressant. So yep Id say a combination of not taking your medication and drinking has given u a little jolt.

The mistake alot of people make also, is to stop taking the medication once they feel better....thats another big mistake. Might take a little while for your mood to go down...but it will. So keep taking them.

Hope u feel better.

• Posted

On my packet of Venlafaxine XL capsules the label says specifically

\"avoid alcohol\"

It's a v v v bad idea to interrupt a course of antidepressants - alcohol on top is even worse. I just don't drink alcohol any more, ever.

• Posted