Alcohol Dependent

Posted , 8 users are following.

I've been drinking very heavily for several months now to deal with my depression and anxiety. I wake up in the morning with tremors, nausea, dry vomiting and most times during night I can't keep my legs still.

I want to stop, wouid my GP be able to help? I really don't want to drink anymore, it's horrible, I do so out of fear of withdrawal more then out of want. If I went to my GP would he help me by prescribing something to help me withdrawn (if such a thing exists?) Or would he refer me to a community treatment centre and send me home without anything to help (which would likely force me to drink again).

I can't believe I am where I am now. Please advice. 

2 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Ozram,

First of all well done for admitting you have a Alcohol Problem, as you reckonise you can't stop & have an Addiction is the first step to Recovery, I think you have some great Advice on here already, and exactly as i would have Adviced as many have on here already you cannot Just stop drinking its very Dangerous & you,d be sure to go into a full blown withdrawel & have Sezuires, There is help out there, I'm not going to say its going to be a easy road because i,d be liying & its also if your ready to quit, Its also how much you want to come off alcohol & if your really ready to lead a alcohol free life, even after withdrawing & being Alcohol free the battle starts in quitting for good, there are some great Support groups out there Ozram, Especailly in your Local area, Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) is a free self-help group. Its "12-step" programme involves getting sober with the help of regular support groups,

Another is the The Southwark Substance Misuse Team is a team of qualified social workers who work closely with the PCT, the South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust and independent sector providers.