Allergic to Wet Ones

Posted , 5 users are following.

To: Lynda79 ... Thank you for the great information. I have been using the Wet Ones for 4 months although I realized quickly that I was allergic to them. Something kept me using them on and off while searching for another cleanser with Benzethonium Chloride.

I found it.... and I am writing about it for all those of you who are allergic to the Wet Ones.

What I found are wipes meant to remove makeup on the face and eyes. I live in Canada and therefore I don't know if they are available in other countries. The product name is MERIDA Cleansing Wipes. They do not come in a canister like the Wet Ones, they are in a square package of 25 large wipes for $1.25. They are sold at DOLORAMA. After only 24 hours, I could not believe the improvement of my eyelids.

If this product is not in your area and if the Wet Ones are not an option, I just want you all to know that Benzethonium Chloride exists in other products and it's worth reading labels until you find the right wipe for you.Good luck to all smile

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

lyse, thank you for posting.  I'm not allergic to the wet ones, but I'm sure all are grateful for your post who are.  smile  Dena
  • Posted

hi , it's ironic as some years ago Dolorama actually removed their products from the shelves as they found Strept' bacteria in the baby wipes ! Maybe that's why Benz' is now one of the active ingrediants ?
    • Posted

The baby wipes may not have been made by the same Company. The wipes that I am referring to, are made especially for removing eye makeup and therefore are very gentle to the skin. 

• Posted

It was about 3 yrs ago ( according to google ) and they weren't the only company caught out unexpectently . Most companies sub-contract the actual manufacture and that often is to the same company that their competitors use . It happens , things improve and the public are looked after .