Alternatives to thyroid surgery?

Posted , 8 users are following.

I have a nodule in my thyroid and recently had a fine needle aspiration which came back indeterminate. They also did an "affirma gene expression", which is some sort of genetic testing of the biospy, and it came back "suspicious". According to my doctor, that means there is a 40% chance it is cancerous and due to that, they want to remove the rest of my thyroid and I'll have to take thyroid medication the rest of my life (a long time, I'm not that old). 

I feel like I'm being forced into the surgery without any alternatives.

Any advice would be welcome. Thank you!

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hello Jules:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease and have had it since 1987.  I am 54 now.

First of all, sorry to hear about the nodule. I have 3 nodules but none are cancerous.

My advice is this:

1. They can remove the LOBE that the nodule is on.  There are 2 lobes so if it is on one lobe they could remove that one leaving you half.  Half is better than none!

Most people can live okay on half and may or may not need any replacment hormone.

2. See another doctor and get a 2nd opinion on the nodule!  Nodules can be small and can cause the thyroid to act up also. Do you have a family history of cancer of the thyroid?  I would see an Endocrine or Onocologist  Surgeon who knows more than just an Endocrinologist.

3. You can watch it, and decline any surgery!  You would need to have an ultrasound maybe once or  twice a year to see if it changes or biposy of it.  This would be playing the odds that it is not cancerous. Thyroid cancer is kind of rare and most nodules are not cancerous. Ask for your blood work, RBC's and Sodium levels, any TPOA  (Thyroid antibodies) antibodies, WBC's,  etc...blood work goes off when you have cancer.