Am I prediabetic?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I'm new to all this. Over the last 17 days I have taken random readings using ACCU 'prick and touch' instrument. The average fasting time was 7 hours and the average blood glucose reading was 5.8 mmols/L (same as 104 mg/dL).  

I don't drink alcohol or smoke. I'm inclined to 'eat when hungry and drink when dry'. I'm 12 stone 4 lbs and 5 feet 7 inches tall (or small - I'v shrunk) and I'm 81 years old. I'm not, and have nerver been, on a diet. Am I heading for Type 2? If so how can I avoid T2? Indeed, am I prediabetic?

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi aquarius545

All that I can tell you is that as you do get older your body produces more sugar from its reserves.

When I was tested positive for diabetes, what they did was test your blood sugars before, then I was given a strong sugar based drink, then another blood sugar test 2 hours after to see if your body was able to deal with a high level of sugar. Also to compare the both reading. If the second reading was just as high then it was most likely that you would be diabetic. They then sent of a blood test.

if you think that you are, I would recommend that you contact your doctor's surgery. Your GP practice would have a nurse that is also trained in this field, but your GP is the best option.

Again if you think you are, don't leave it to late. I did and by the I found out the damage had been done. As during 2014, I have had 7 operations to save my feet as your circulation can be affected as well with diabetes and I have only been diabetic for 16 years.

• Posted

Hi Mark,