Am taking 400 mg of multaq twice a day for afib, have pacemaker, can dosage be cut in half. It is a.

Posted , 2 users are following.

am taking 400 mg of multaq twice a day for afib have a pacemaker can dosage be cut in half?? it is a very expensive proprietary drug .

any experience out there with multaq???

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

I took Multaq for about six months. For part of that time I cut them in half or in 2/3. I still got A-fib about twice a month. (Average 24 hours, BPM 130). I quit as it wasn't doing me any good and I felt like a zombie. I have been referred to an electrophysioligist. We tried a low dose of Diltiazam and Flecainade and I got A-fib three times in one week, although at a lower heart rate. Now we are trying Diltiazam alone, to see if I can tolerate it and if it will do me some good.

I have never heard of a pacemaker in conjunction with an anti-arrythmic drug, but I am not a medical professional. My new EP talked about using a pace-maker, but then destroying the electrical system. That way you would be entirely dependant on the pacemaker, but would never have A-fib again! This is a last resort remedy, and I would rather not go that route, but I thought you might be interested in learning about it.

• Posted

according to sanofi, who makes multaq you have to take 400 mg twice a day for it to work. i have had an ablation to get rid of afib hut it came nack multaq seems to work but i wondered if anyone else had a similsr situation but was able to cut dosage in half i guess not.

thanks for response

• Posted

dont let them destroy electrical system.!!! an ablation might work. it only destroys some of the electrical firing mechanism in the heart but gets rid of afib.

• Posted