Amitriptyline For Headaches & Facial Pain

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi Guys, 

I'm pretty new to this so here goes - I have been prescribed Amitriptyline for headaches & facial pains/tingles. After alot of research online my symptoms are along the lines of someone suffering Trigeminal Neuralgia (TN - I also posted a discussion in the Trigeminal Neuralgia Section on here) has anyone else on here been prescribed this drug for this? I have went from a dose of 10mg - 50mg within 6 weeks and still suffering the pains in my face, also along with the pains I have flushing on my cheek/ear/neck and on very back occassions i have this appear on my chest and back too. Has anyone else been prescibed this drug for these symptoms and also have they worked? 

Amanda 

0 likes, 18 replies

18 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Amanda sorry for late reply,work been manic. Sorry to hear your not doing to good. Went to docs and asked to stay on same mg! did not want to increase dosage. Got to go back in four weeks. Symptoms till there feeling quite low at mo. Got cold sores and sore throat so feeling quite crap. I'm going to keep trying amitriptyline and hope it goes away soon. Does your pain change in different weathers????
  • Posted

I hope this will help people suffering fro TMJ. I was diagnosed with it year ago and given gum shield. Was managing okay then recently had a really bad bout as stopped wearing gum shield.

Chronic pain, dizziness, could not even stand up for two days pain, migraine and dizziness was so bad!!

Took paracetamol and after neurophen as little as possible but needed either constantly for three days.

then started acupressure in certain areas of cheek bone, back of neck and other areas. Relived the pain tremendously, I was offered Amiltripaline, but have managed without, by doing acu pressure, relaxation exercises and doing very gentle exercise, when pain and dizziness receded.