Amitriptyline for IBS / IBD with anxiety and depression

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all,

I was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis about 10 years ago. It is in remission but I still have some residual IBS type symptoms along with anxiety and depression. I experience irritability with anxiety and urgency.

Have tried several SSRIs without much success but I have read that Amitriptyline is good for IBS with mental issues.

I would appreciate it if you could share any relevant stories or experiences.

Many thanks

Ed

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Trust me, I'm a Doctor of Clinical Psychology. Firstly cut out all dairy, eat rice cakes, chicken or lean meat, no fat, no sugar for 12 weeks, Drink herbal tea with honey if you must. No fizzy drinks, no pasta nothing with white flour in it. I promise you, you'll have lost IBS on that diet, by a few weeks but keep at it for at least 12 don't use salt, your body doesn't need it. have a smoothie every day, It totally works, no dairy, no white sugar, not really Honey although I drank it with a little runny Honey. Whole grain bread is ok if you must. Stay off the sweet stuff, I mean it. After 12 weeks, see what happens? Give it a try, trust me.Eat blueberries and make smoothies with a good green leaf vegetable like kale or spinach, some seeds and a banana, use Almond milk, it's delicious to drink and acts like meal.

Carol

• Posted

Thanks for your reply. However, I'm not looking for dietary advice. I am already seeing a nutritionist and a dietitian. I am vegan and already have cut out gluten, alcohol and caffeine. I have been keeping a food diary for the last three months identifying trigger.

As stated in my post I am looking for people who have tried treating IBS / IBD with co-morbid mental health issues using Amitriptyline.

• Edited