Amlodipine and Erection difficulty

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi I am 39 year Old. I have recently diagnosed with high blood pressure. So my GP put me on Amlodipine 5mg. I am diabetic type 2 as well and taking Metformine 500 mg for that. 

Now after being on this two medications I am experiencing some erection problems. I can always obtain an erection but recently can't maintain that when try to have sex. I am loosing my election right inside vagina which is utterly frustrating for both of us.

I have already got long time premature ejaculation problem on top I am facing this Erection problem. My sex life now almost non existent. Frustration is at sky high between us two. 

I studied online some people said amolodipine cause some kind of erection difficulty but with careful further study I got to know Amlodipine is calcium blocker drug so it is actually less likely to be responsible for erectile dysfunction. 

I find it too embarrassing to get myself checked by GP.  Besides if once I change the Amlodipine if the new one make it worse how would I know.

Do any of you have similar conditions please let me know your advice 

Thanks 

Report this

? 0

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

I have no personal experience but what I know is that the high blood pressure itself can affect erections, due to blood flow. I don' think that you need to be physically checked by your doctor but it would be wise of you to just call and ask a question or two. 

How are you feeling these days? I see that it's been a month since you originally posted.

• Posted

Dear Gr8fulwoman, thank you so much for your kind attention and time to read my letter and the reply you made. 

Yes it's been quite a while since I published this. But I really don't know how to remove the writing once it is sorted.