Amlodipine Original Brand or Generic....?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have been on Amlodipine for a year now and I have seen that people are asking about the efficiency of generics.

The thing is I have a Phd in chemistry and not long ago I have the same discussion with my cardiologist who was furious about the subject and warned about the dangers of generics but because of the economics logic behind it no one wants to hear about the subject!

The fact is blood pressure is a villain sleeping monster who can wake up any moment causing serious and life threatening damages to make sure this monster is sedated all the time the original laboratory who created Amlodipine has to overcome a problem which is to ensure regular diffusion of Amlodipine dose through the 24 hours. to make sure this happens the original medicine is contained in a special envelope with other chemicals which are added for that purpose.

It is more expensive this is right but as well more effective and safer for the patient. This truth is a reality and no one absolutely no one can argue with this.

It is true that you can take simple generics  medicines like Paracetamol and other comfort medicines but for serious conditions it will be like playing Russian roulette game.

I just want to underline that years back I watched a panorama BBC program about fake generic medicines imported from India that were used by renowned hospitals all over the country and how people died in hospitals. Nothing were done about it and never will be.

It is very difficult to predict the future of health services in the near future. Heath is a costly sector which is not a priority given the number of patients and other social factors and at the end of the day every single decision is based one statistics and risk factors and as long as we do not go beyond the acceptable loss we are fine. The only problem is that acceptable risk is expandable giving other factors.....

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted