Anal fistula

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hello I'm new to this discussion group. I got an abcess nearly 3 years ago. I've now had surgery 8 times to try and resolve it. My surgeon says it's a complex fistula. He has tried leaving them open , cutting seton suture. At the moment I have 2 seton sutures in. I'm due yet again to go back in for surgery. He is talking about trying glue or a flap procedure. Has anyone had either of these and what the success rate is. Like you all my day to day life is non excitent. The good days are good . The bad days I'm house bound. My surgeon said after a colononscpy I don't have chrons, it's just a chronic anal fistula. Any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated xx

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lesley,

sorry to hear of your problems. All I can offer is sympathy as I am currently walking around with one seton after surgery to lay open my fistula in October. A few days before Christmas it started getting really painful again and I've spent the holiday on antibiotics to try to clear up the problem. I am due to see the consultant again but still waiting for an appointment (too many patients and not enough clinics I'm told)

• Posted

Hi

Sorry to hear that. I have been told by my surgeon there is no point in antibiotics as they do not help the fistula only the infection that it causes . So I have given up taking them . I have to back in for more surgery in about 6 weeks. I'll wait and see what happens then xx

• Posted

Yes, antibiotics were really to help fight possible infection/ recurrence of abscess which was giving me some pain and discharge (Yuk!)

This is a really horrible and debilitating problem which Imhad never heard of before developing my first abscess a couple of years ago. Let us know how you get on - especially if you strike lucky next time under the knife!

• Posted