Ankle broken in 3 places

Posted , 10 users are following.

I broke my ankle 2 months ago, had surgery and a plate put in. I have been full weight-bearing for a week and am wearing a boot. Doctor says i can graduate to walking without a walker as soon as I feel comfortable. But I am still in pain when walking and the ankle swells up on a daily basis. Even the opposite ankle swells up.  Is it normal to still be in pain after 8 weeks. I would think I would be able to walk pain-free by now, but maybe I am being overly optimistic.  I start therapy in another week, but am doing some exercises on my own. Any suggestions are very much appreciated. Thank you!

1 like, 20 replies

20 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I 'm afraid I can"t offer anything very illuminating regarding your current pain except to empathize.

I'm just starting out on the journey the majority of people here on the forum are traveling on. I am going to the er tonight- hoping for fewer people there and shorter wait. I'm post injury 15 untreated days. Untreated because I couldn't tolerate having my left foot down for any time at all until now. It is still very touchy, but I have to get the news.

I have responded here because I 'm intrigued by your '2 dogs and jogs'.

What size are they? I have a yellow lab now 1.5 yrs.Had her for 6 months. She's being trained as my service dog as I have low vision which gives me some mobility problems, especially outdoors.

She has ENORMOUS exercise needs which I'm unable to satisfy now the way I once did. She runs at break neck speed up and down a slope wbich connects us to the beach level. I shoot a tennis ball up the hill with a large wrist rocket (slingshot) produced for that purpose and she retrieves it and brings it back down ti me

• Posted

I just realized I didn't answer your post!  Sorry---