Ankle Pain Please Help..

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hello everyone, my names Austin. I had just recently gotten ankle surgery for a broken ankle. 3 screws and a metal plate. Im currently taking prescription painkillers but my biggest problem is sleeping. The pain is unbearable especially late at night. Its currently 4:29 am and ive only gotta 2 full hours of sleep this past day. Its been 3 days since surgery and even when elevating my foot it still hurts. Can anyone shed some light and help me out? Btw this is my first time going through this...

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Austin, I had the same kind of surgery in late March. I, too, had problems sleeping and for 3 to 5 days after the operation a lot of pain. I assure you that the intensity of pain decreases although sleeping with a keg un plaster is clearly more difficult. I learnt to sleep on my back which I hardly ever did before my accident and slept with my leg elevated on two pillows. I am now nearly 9 weeks post surgery and walk without crutches. You will, too but it is a bit of a long haul.
  • Posted

Hi Austin, 

Your so new into this and it is going to take you some time to get over this first hump. Well the first hump is the injury!  I do recommend going on Amazon if you can and buy yourself a wedge for your legs. I didn't do this for the first two surgeries and did for my 3rd, and what a difference it has made! 

Keep taking those pain meds with your Tylenol or what your doc gave you. Trust the process even though its painful. One day you will wake up and say.. "Hey, I don't need that, I can just take the Tylenol!" Baby steps!!

Good luck!

Rose

• Posted

Hi Austin.