Ankle sprain for three years (+failed surgery)

Posted , 4 users are following.

In March 2015, I sprained my ankle while playing football as I twisted my foot inward (somehow). I tried walking but it was painful. At the emergency service I was told that a cast would not be required, but my ankle was swollen severely 6 weeks later, and my foot was blue. Only then was I given a cast for 6 weeks. With months of physiotherapy. I felt better but not perfect, but I started playing football regularly.

In April 2016, I twisted the same ankle (outward) when playing football (these were all Grade II sprains). This one felt much more severe as I could not stand up and was in severe pain. I was given a cast immediately for 2 months and a boot for 2 weeks before I could walk. I took around 20 more sessions of physio, but my foot was not feeling good bc of the pain i felt when walking and especially running. There is mild swelling all the time but it increased sometimes. 

In August 2017, I had to undergo ankle arthroscopy since nothing seemed to be working for me. It was expected to fully heal within a month, and at least 6 months. Despite plenty of physio and the doctor informing me that my ligament healed, my foot still hurts and I do not know why. It pains a lot when I run and mildly when im at home

I feel very disappointing that I have missed so much time to play football, especially when all my friends are playing. 

Thanks to anyone who has read this. 

(P.S. - I have taken 3 MRI scans, a ultrasound and multiple X-rays since the first injury)

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hmm wow that’s a lot. I broke my leg three weeks ago (slipped on ice). Found out I had multiple fractures and had to get surgery. I was in so much pain for about two weeks and had to keep my leg elevated could barely do anything(still can’t but in less pain)