Ankle sprain fracture - Posterior talar process fracture

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi, i got some ankle issues and need help.

I sprained my ankle (4 months ago) real hard and fast playing basketball, I couldn't put a bit of pressure on the foot for a few hours. Inside the back of the foot hurts during plantar flexion.I have this injury 4 months. I have done some research and I think it is a Posterior talar process fracture or a Fractured Steida's Process. The image below shows exactly where it hurts during plantar flexion. I found the image on google and it isn't my xray. How long will it take for it to heal and will it need surgery?

http://posterng.netkey.at/esr/viewing/index.php?module=viewimage&task=&maxheight=300&maxwidth=300&mediafile_id=513951&201305112333.gif

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi, I agree with Carol.  Better to be safe than sorry.  Good luck and hope you find some answers soon. 

Beth

• Posted

I agree I'm by no means a doctor but it doesn't look like it will heal on its own.

Just knowing a doctor looked at no matter what he tells you would have to be peace of mind, don't want to make it worse.

• Posted

Well it's not getting better as it should. Time to seek a 2nd opinion asap.

Are you having physio? If so what is physios opinion?

I had a snapped Fibula that didn't heal. Non union 100%. I had surgery 5 months later. I should have been more proactive. Had a bone graft too.

Get answers asap.

Healing easier once appropriate diagnosis and treatment received.

Good luck!

@(*+*)@

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!