Anti Thyroid Peroxidase...so confused

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello, So I am new to this forum...I am new to Hypo and also have questions...

My TSH was 11.49...

Doc put me on 112mcg of Levo, started yesterday

On Monday took closer look at thyroid through bloodwork. Doc's office just called with results.

Free T4 is .9 (normal). Free t3 is 2.8 (normal)

Anti thyroid Peroxidase was greater than 900, indicating something. But the MA over the phone could not tell me what. I asked her what all this means, and how my thyroid is underactive if my t3 and t4 are ok. She said she did not know. I would need to talk to Doc. but continue on medication...

I am so new to this. Can someone help and explain this to me? Is levo the best thing to be on for hight Anthi Thyroid Peroxidase? Im so scared sad

1 like, 19 replies

19 Replies

• Posted

Hello Rhwittman:

My name is Shelly and I am an RN -nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

Let's go over your blood work:  TSH is thyroid stimulating hormone and it is a built in sensor hormone and gets signals from the Pituitary gland.  Normal is 0.45 to 4.50 and the higher end of the scale means you are low!  It is opposite and confusing.

SO if you are 11.49 you have Hypothyroidism, and it can be replaced by LEVOTHYROXINE.

The T4 is Thyroxine and should be 4.5 to 11.2 and you are good there!

The FT3 should be 2.5 to 3.90 and you are good there!   

Antibodies test, means some of us, myslef and others have an autoimmune (means these antibodies do not recognise your gland as you and want to attack it),thyroid condition like Hashimoto's and this means that you have these antibodies and they can attack the gland.  By being on medication early, you can keep it in check.

It is not a bad thing, it can happen from having a family trait, or a virus called Epstein-Barr.

I have it and I am 54 and still living a good life and so can you.  In time by taking your Levo, the antibodies will settle down.