Anxiety and Panic Relapse after Citalopram withdrawal

Posted , 11 users are following.

Evening chaps!

So I have been battling with depression and anxiety for the past 5 years or so! I recently after a period of feeling great, and a desire to start fatherhood (baby due in March) without a dependence upon medication, decided to just go cold turkey from the 20mg citalopram I had been on!

One month in Of no citalopram, I started to feel a bit iffy with some intrusive thoughts coming back however I was still pretty ok and felt It would clear so carried on my usual day to day!

However 2 weeks ago after around 2 months with no citalopram, I have had a big crash and have just become a shadow of the former me on the medication! All of my anxiety and panic attacks have returned which is awful and has made me feel at Rock bottom, however I think the thing that upsets me the most is a feeling of detatchment from wife and bump! This is very upsetting and I just want to feel close to her again!

I started back on my citalopram 1 week ago and am still feeling really rubbish and just wanted to know if I should have been feeling better by now! I have a dreadful fear that I will never recover and that is crippling. Anyone returned to citalopram and had their anxiety go away again?

Any experience of this?

1 like, 29 replies

29 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Howard, only been back on the meds for a short while, so things are a bit rough, but getting better, and even though life keeps chucking things

at me, and even though I don't feel great, the meds help me cope. As the other members of our little gang have said, things will get better, that I

promise you. So chin up and take baby steps. we're all here to help you.

Geoff

• Posted

I am totally amazed by the responses of people on here! I posted and expected maybe one reply!