Anxiety, been signed off work and my employer wants a medical report? HELP!

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi everyone, I'm very new to this so please be nice! Iv been off work now for 6 weeks with anxiety and low mood. My doctor has put me on Setriline and I'm still struggling. My profession requires me to be somewhat 'on the ball' and it can be extremely stressful. Iv had 'fitness for work' certificates and sent them to my work showing that I'm unfit for work. I'm currently in the process of starting some talking therapy and I will probably be doing CBT.

I got an email from my employer today saying :

"To help us to fully support you with your return to work we would like to obtain a medical report from your GP. We as a workplace have been advised that due to the length of time you have been off, this is the most appropriate next step. This will enable us to have an insight into your conditions and help us to potentially change your working environment to facilitate your return.

Therefore you will be receiving a letter from us in the next couple of days requesting your authority for us to contact your GP."

As you can imagine, this has sent me into complete panic and my anxiety is going wild right now.

What does a medical report mean? What will I have to do? Will they have access to all my medical records? Will I get to see the report? Can I refuse?

My employer knows I'm off with anxiety and low mood, so I don't understand why they are doing this?

Thankyou for any replies!

Amber

2 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted