Anxiety causing more anxiety!

Posted , 8 users are following.

To make a LONG story short I have a dual diagnosis of anxiety and alcoholism.  To "ME" alcohol causes even more anxiety.  My doctor has been trying different medications but it seems all anxiety meds cause even more anxiety.  So, until we straighten things out and find something that works for me my doctor filled out FMLA papers so that I can have 3 days off a month for panic attacks.  I needed to take today off due to major anxiety last evening.  I got zero sleep until I finally fell asleep at 4 am and woke up at 9.  Not too long ago I received a text message from my supervisor saying this: 

" Just checking in to see if you think you'll be at work tomorrow? I have an admission and contract signing so I really can't be getting called in the morning to be the 2nd person?"  

Meaning I work in health care and my supervisor had to work the floor and do cares and meds this morning.  

So, now my anxiety is even worse thinking about the pressure of having to be there.  I know this is against FMLA rules for her to ask me if I know if I'm coming to work or not.  I said I plan on coming every day & that I don't plan the panic attacks.  

How can I calm myself down?  I've already drank 2 beer and I know that isn't helping.

Thanks for listening!  

0 likes, 18 replies

18 Replies

Next
  • Posted

My anxiety is through the roof today and yesterday it is horrendous I can't sleep or anything it's like my head is full of air

• Posted

I guess when one has anxiety it's tough to help someone else.  I'm sorry you're feeling so much anxiety.  Mine is like restless body syndrome.  Just jittery all over.

• Posted

It's like u try and switch of but nothing works. I get restless as well no energy how long does yours last for

• Posted