Anxiety from being in the dark

Posted , 5 users are following.

I'm quite new to this whole thing and I feel like I could really benefit from people's opinions and experiences. 

I'm 21 and I can't be in the dark. I have suffered with anxiety for around 8 years and it started in school. I just couldn't get myself together and had a panic attack. They lasted about 6 months before I got them under control. Then after that I didn't really suffer from it. Just a bit of social anxiety here and there but nothing too out of the ordinary. I have tried drinking peppermint tea to calm my nerves as I heard it worked but they didn't really do much. Then about 5 months ago, me and my fiancé were about to go to sleep when this wave of anxiety and nervousness came over me. I became hyper aware of all my surroundings and started to feel like I wasn't in control and the only way I could get to sleep was with some form of light. I am constantly tired and can't be alone in a dark room. I feel like a child and I'm embarrassed about it. I haven't been to the doctors about this because I feel that they'll just tell me to get a grip because I'm an adult. I've resorted to buying a night light and using that at night. I can't think why this is happening now. 

Anyone's answers or questions are welcome as I'm at a total loss on what is happening or what I can do to resolve this. 

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

hi -go the docs and if u don't get help from one go + see another one.

until 6 weeks ago i was fine then for some reason i my anxiety went thro the roof + been off wk ever since-i cld not understand it + still don't but went to docs + after several visits was put on sertraline.it has made me ill for several wks but after 3.75 wks i feel like a human again.as per my doc anxiety is very prevalent-much more so than folk realise.SO GET TO THE DOCS ASAP

• Posted