Anxiety in college

Posted , 7 users are following.

I've recently started a new job and part of this new job means I need to go to college once a week. I have a masters degree in history, I have no problems with this. I enjoy studying, comfortable with exams etc. Except for my new teacher expects lots of class participation and keeps asking me to answer questions in class. (There is only 6 of us so it's a LOT). I'm not a genius, I can't remember everything so I get things wrong and my anxiety goes through the roof. I am now crying and having panic attacks ahead of tomorrow. I can't face it but how can I let my employers down when they pay for me to improve myself! The teacher is doing a quiz tomorrow and there will be a leaderboard showing how well we do as well as answering questions along the way! I can't deal with this! Please help me! Last class I sat there so worried about him asking me a question I wasn't even listening to him so of course went and looked more stupid. I'm not stupid and left to my own devices will pass this class but not if the teacher continues as he is.

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi Bella, I've worked as a university lecturer and one of the major concerns that students came to talk to me about was being asked to answer questions in lectures and having to do presentations. It was very common and students used to get very anxious about it, so you're not alone.

I encouraged students to talk to me about it and then there was a careful balance if helping them to overcome their anxiety slowly so they could learn from experience and get more confident and not making them anymore anxious than they already were.

Have you considered talking to the tutor so he is aware of your situation? If he knows about how you feel and how much its affecting you, he may help you to manage it better and be more sympathetic.

• Posted