Anxiety? Something else? Been a year of this and Im done.

Posted , 5 users are following.

First time posting here so bear with me.

Since last summer (Aug 2017) I’ve just had a tough time being myself. I work in finance I’m 37 w two kids and a wife and lead a fairly healthy lifestyle. ( No drugs, some beer and wine ). I’ve had these bouts of feeling “out of it” like my brain is just not functioning properly. I think too deeply about things like how I’m walking or how im opening/closing a door. Do I remember things correctly?    I have a semi- constant feeling that I’m off –balanced or about to become dizzy. Although it never happens, it feel like it will any minute.

Rewind to last year I had a few instances of lightheadedness which then sent my heart rate racing. This freaked me out. It was almost like a euphoric sense that everything around me was either standing still and I was moving or I was standing still and everything else was moving. I went to Urgent Care who ran an EKG, did some blood.,..nothing. Some time went by it happened again I went to a Neurologist who scheduled me for an MRI of the brain.  MRI came back = unremarkable.  I went to a cardiologist because I felt like the fast heart beat was something deeper with my heart. Again = nothing. My heart was “tachy”.   Finally I had a physical with my GP. Bloods, heart, lungs all tip top.

I’m going through another period of this “off feeling”, thinking too much, euphoria = heart race. I feel like if I go back to my GP he will just tell me everything is fine.. it’s Anxiety.

Any tips from the group out there?  Thanks a lot!!

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

The symptoms you describe are all common with anxiety so it's possible this is that. Especially since you've been checked by doctors and such, it sounds like it probably is just anxiety/stress.