anxiety sufferer , did i just hyperventilate?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello people.

this is my first time posting on here so take it easy on me smile

so basically i have had anxiety disorder / agoraphobia / social phobia / ptsd 

since suffering an attack when i was younger. i am ( 21 yo M ) now

so basically i was walking to my local shop , i didnt feel anxious at all to be honest as i had done this many time , but all of a sudden my breathing got serious , i feel like i was actually drowning . my throat was basically feeling closed , i had to force out BIG deep breaths to produce small out - breath , and this happened for about 40 seconds . everytime i breathed out , i HAD to take a massive breath in because i felt like i needed oxygen.

can this be a sign of my anxiety disorder symptom? ive never had this before , ive been on sertraline for about 4 months now after coming off citalopram due to chest pains. i dont think the tablets caused the issue though , please give your input if you have any information what this could of been as im worried and scared it will happen again , as it was my first time it really startled me and rushed home to lay down sad

thank you all

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Yes  definitely sounds like an anxiety attack, I get that sometimes 
    • Posted

it seems strange , ive had anxiety attacks many times , normally its major lightheadedness , loss of hearing , confusion , fast heart beat , sweating , and actually vomiting in some situations. but this is my first having this sort of hyperventalation series. do you think this was a one off or do you think theres more to come? sad
    • Posted

Hope it's a one off, try not to think about it too much as the more you worry about it the more likely it will repeat itself 
  • Posted